Cement-Based Engineered Soils

Construction

Engineered Soils

Ciment Quebec Inc. (CQI) has in-depth expertise in cement-based engineered soils. Cement-based engineered soil technology is used to stabilize the soil of a site that is not strong enough to support a building or road. Portland cement is mixed in the soil (sometimes with aggregates), along with water, and then compacted. The resulting mix, called cement-based soil, is stable and strong enough for construction. We can adapt the mix according to project requirements. There are three types of cement-based engineered soils: cement-modified soil, cement-stabilized bases and full-depth reclamation with cement.

CQI has the appropriate equipment for laying these cement-based soils, including mobile Pugmill continuous mixing plants, and cement spreaders/proportioners.

CQI designed a cement specifically adapted to this application to obtain the best results possible on the work site. ProBASE™ cement is made using an eco-energetic production process with low air emissions known as Synergia™, which is unique to Ciment Quebec Inc.

BCR---Photo---Projet---Autoroute-15-2009-(4)

Benefits of Cement-Based Engineered Soils

  • Increases soil modulus of reaction
    The hydraulic reaction of cement with the soil improves resistance to soil deformation and optimizes pavement design.
  • Spreads the load
    A cement-based soil is far more solid and stronger than an unstabilized granular base. This increased strength spreads the load over a larger area, which reduces pressure on the structure.
  • Eliminates rutting in the foundation
    Rutting does not occur in a cement-based soil foundation. Ruts are limited to the flexible surfacing course and are easy to repair.
  • Reduces water and humidity problems in the foundation
    A cement-based soil is designed to be almost impermeable. This keeps the water outside the foundation so that, even in winter, there is no ice formation. No weight-bearing capacity is lost as the seasons change. Since it is a bonded material, cement-based soil retains a large amount of tonicity, even in the unlikely case that it becomes saturated.
  • Reduces flexing
    The higher modulus of a cement-based soil produces very low levels of deflection and stress on the pavement layer. This results in greater resistance to fatigue for an asphalt surface versus an asphalt coating with an aggregate base.

Anglais

Construction

Ciment Quebec Inc. (CQI) assists construction companies in their infrastructure, industrial, commercial and residential projects such as bridges, road pavements, buildings, wind turbines, etc. Ciment Quebec Inc. can support you in all your projects. CQI offers a leading expertise and equipment in roller compacted concrete (RCC), concrete roads, rehabilitation of roads and cement-based solidification and stabilization process for contaminated sites.

synergia-tmpbcr-tmp
calculatrice-vignette

FDR/RHP

Construction

Sols d’ingénierie

Ciment Québec inc. (CQI) possède une solide expertise dans le domaine des sols d’ingénierie au ciment. La technique du renforcement des sols au ciment est utilisée pour stabiliser le sol d’un chantier qui n’est pas assez solide pour supporter un bâtiment ou une route. Le ciment Portland est mélangé au sol (parfois avec des granulats), additionné d’eau puis compacté. Le mélange ainsi produit, qu’on appelle sol-ciment, constitue une base sûre et stable pour la construction. On peut adapter le mélange selon les besoins des projets. Il existe trois types de sols d’ingénierie au ciment : les sols modifiés au ciment, les bases stabilisées au ciment et le retraitement haute performance au ciment.

Pour réaliser des projets dans ce domaine, CQI possède les équipements appropriés à la mise en place de ces sols-ciment tels que des usines mobiles de malaxage en continu de type Pugmill et des épandeurs-doseurs à ciment.

Ciment Québec inc. a conçu un ciment spécifiquement adapté à ce type d’application afin d’obtenir les meilleurs résultats possibles sur le terrain. Le ciment ProBASE™ est issu du procédé de fabrication éconergétique et à faible émission atmosphérique Synergia™, unique à CQI.

BCR---Photo---Projet---Autoroute-15-2009-(4)

Avantages des sols d’ingénierie

  • Augmentation du module de réaction du sol
    La réaction hydraulique du ciment avec le sol améliore la résistance à la déformation du sol et permet d’optimiser la conception des chaussées.
  • Répartir les charges
    Un sol-ciment est beaucoup plus solide et plus rigide qu’une base granulaire non stabilisée. Cette rigidité accrue permet de répartir les charges sur une zone plus large, ce qui réduit les pressions sur la structure.
  • Éliminer l’orniérage dans la fondation
    L’orniérage ne se produit pas dans une fondation au sol-ciment. La formation d’ornières se limite à la couche de revêtement souple et est relativement simple à corriger.
  • Réduire les problèmes d’humidité et d’eau dans la fondation
    Un sol-ciment est conçu pour être pratiquement imperméable. Cela permet de maintenir l’eau à l’extérieur de la fondation, de sorte que même dans des conditions hivernales, aucune lentille de glace ne se forme. Il n’y a pas de perte de capacité portante lors des changements de saison. Étant un matériau lié, un sol-ciment maintient une tonicité importante, même dans les cas peu probables où il devient saturé.
  • Réduire le fléchissement
    Le module plus élevé d’un sol-ciment ne génère que de faibles niveaux de déflection et de tension dans la couche de revêtement. Il en résulte une plus grande résistance à la fatigue pour la surface asphaltée comparativement à un revêtement en asphalte avec une base granulaire.

Construction

Ciment Québec inc. (CQI) accompagne les entreprises de construction dans leur projet d’infrastructures et de construction industrielle, commerciale et résidentielle. Ponts, pavages routier, bâtiments, éoliennes, etc., CQI peut vous épauler dans tous vos projets. L’entreprise possède, entre autres, une expertise déterminante en béton compacté au rouleau (BCR), en chaussées de béton, en réhabilitation de chaussées et en stabilisation et solidification au ciment pour les sols contaminés.

synergia-tmpbcr-tmp
calculatrice-vignette